top of page


Born in Taiwan, Taoyuan, Yi-Hsuan Lee started playing piano at the age of six. She received a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree 

from National Taiwan Normal University, and her teachers included Su-Yin Hsaio and Lina Yeh.


She received her Master of Music degree both in Piano Performance and Piano Chamber Music from the University of Michigan in 2019 and received her Doctoral Degree in Piano Performance at the University of Michigan under the tutelage of Dr. Arthur Greene in 2022.

She has won numerous prizes in North America and Asia, including the second grand prize of the Vancouver International Music Competition, the most exceptional performance prize of the Charleston International Music Competition, the first prize of the “New Art Music Star” competition, fifth prize of the 17th Hong-Kong Asia Piano Open Competition, and first prize of National Taiwan Normal University Piano Concerto Competition.

She has performed concerti with the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra, the National Taiwan Normal University Orchestra in Taipei, and with the Perugia Piano Festival Orchestra in the Hall of Notaries, Perugia. She was selected to participate in the Vivace International Music Festival in the US, the Gijon International Piano Festival in Spain, and the Perugia Piano Festival in Italy.


She also performed in masterclasses with many world-renowned pianists, including Robert

McDonald, Peter Serkin, Boris Giltburg, Boris Slutsky, Jablonski Krzysztof, Marina Lomazov, Sasha Starcevich, Jean Saulnier, José Ramón Méndez, Logan Skelton, Douglas Humpherys, Konstantin Lifschitz, and Nelson Delle-Vigne.



D. M. A. Piano Performance
University of Michigan


M. M. Piano Performance

M. M. Chamber Music
University of Michigan


B. F. A. Piano Performance
Natioanl Taiwan Normal University

Selected Performances

2022. 4. Solo Recital

"From 19th-Century and Beyond, the Chopin Legacy"

Preludes by M. Szymanowska, F. Chopin, A. Scriabin, K. Szymanowski,

C. Debussy, and G. Gershwin
Britton Recital Hall, University of Michigan

2022. 2. Concerto with Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra

Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major by L. van Beethoven
Hill Auditorium, University of Michigan

2022. 2. Salon Concert

In the Mists by Leoš Janáček,

Selections from Preludes Op. 28 by F. Chopin
Ann Arbor, MI

2022. 2. Lecture Recital

"Leoš Janáček - His life, musical aesthetic,
and solo piano works"

1. X. 1905, In the Mists by Leoš Janáček
Stamps Auditorium, University of Michigan

2021. 12. Solo Recital

"Reflection, Monologue, and Transcend"

Nocturnes Op. 62 by F. Chopin,

Drei Intermezzi by J. Brahms,

Drei Klavierstücke, D. 946, No. 2 by F. Schubert,

Sonata in A-flta Major, Op. 110 by L. van Beethoven
Stamps Auditorium, University of Michigan

2021. 4. Solo Recital

Chromatic Fantasy & Fugue, BWV. 903 by J. S. Bach

Nocturnes Op. 48 by F. Chopin,

Valse in A-flat Major, Op. 38 by A. Scriabin,

"Concert sans Orchestre" Op. 14 by R. Schumann
Britton Recital Hall, University of Michigan

bottom of page